What is SDLC in software testing?

SDLC is known as Software Development Life Cycle or Software Development Process. SDLC also stands for System Development Life Cycle.

Software Development Life Cycle is a traditional method for developing an application. Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a process used to create the project/ software. Thus the SDLC can be defined as a framework defining the tasks to be performed at each phase.

SDLC involves the various phases which is used for developing the software. Each of these phases produces the deliverables which is required by the next phase.

SDLC includes various models such as waterfall model, spiral model, Iterative model, RAD model, etc. for developing the applications.

These various models are known as process models each of which follows a particular life cycle process.
Which model to use depends on the requirements for developing the application. SDLC helps to develop a software in a systematic manner.

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) involves six phases:

1. Requirement gathering
2. Analysis and Design
3. Implementation
4. Testing
5. Deployment
6. Maintenance

sdlc block diagram

1. Requirement gathering:

Requirement gathering is the first and most important phase in the development of an application. Managers and stakeholders place a very important role in this phase to decide what data should be the input to the system and what data should the output.

2. Analysis and Design:

In this phase the requirements gathered in the requirement gathering phase are analyzed and studied. In this phase the user requirements are gathered and walkthrough is done to understand all the requirements. All the requirements which are given by user are verified whether the requirements are valid and testable or not. These requirements are approved from the customer using software Requirement specification (SRS).

The best architecture of the product is developed using the reference of Software Requirement Specification (SRS). Based on the requirements Specified in SRS, one or more design for the product architecture is designed and documented in Design Document Specification (DDS) and the best design approach is selected for the product.

3. Implementation:

After receiving the requirements from the analysis and design phase, these requirements are divided into modules/phases and the work of coding is started. Developer focuses more on this phase because the code is designed in this phase. Codes of the different modules are integrated together for the next phase.

4. Testing:

After developing the code the requirements are tested to check whether all the requirements are satisfying the condition or not. Unit testing, acceptance testing, integration testing is done in this phase. In this phase all the activities are tested and it is checked whether the system meets its requirements or not.

5. Deployment:

Once when the testing phase is completed successfully, the product is delivered in the market for the customer use. Once the product is ready for the customer use the customer can give the feedback for the product.

6. Maintenance:

This is the last and important phase in Software Development Life Cycle. When the customer starts using the software, he/she gives the feedback of the product. If there are any defects or faults in the product, then the defects are to be resolved from time to time. So this phase is known as maintenance phase where the product which is developed is to be maintained time to time.

Share This:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *