What is pdca cycle in software testing?

The P-D-C-A process lifecycle also known as Deming’s cycle is a method of improving process. The PDCA cycle consists of four steps namely Plan, Do, Check, and Act. PDCA is one of the key concepts of quality.

Let us see the role of action of each phase.

PDCA cycle in software testing

Plan (P): Devise a plan – Define your objective, determine the strategy and supporting methods required to achieve that objective.

Do (D): Execute the plan – Create necessary test condition and perform necessary training to execute the plan.

Check (C): Check the result, check to determine whether the work is progressing according to the plan and whether the results are obtained. Check for performance of the procedures, changes in conditions, or abnormalities that may appear.

Action (A): Take the necessary and appropriate action. If the check reveals that the work is not being performed according to plan, or if results are not what were anticipated, devise measures for appropriate action. Look for the cause of the abnormality to prevent its recurrence. Sometimes employees may need to be retrained and procedures revised. The next plan should reflect these changes and define them in more detail.

When to Use Plan–Do–Check–Act?

1. When starting a new improvement project.

2. When implementing any change.

3. As a model for continuous improvement.

4. When developing a new or improved design of a process, product or service.

5. When defining a repetitive work process.

Share This: